Old Down Country Park – Cross Country + Kymin Winter Race

Firstly, nine of the club’s runners took part in the County Cross Country Championships in Old Down Country Park near Thornbury where they achieved 4 golds, 2 silvers and one bronze class medals.

The medal winners were: Samantha Harris 1st F35; Catherine Roberts 1st F45; Jacqui Wynds 1st F60; Dave Lothian 2nd M50; Ian Smith 1st M55; Michael Strange 2nd M60 and Alan Robertson 3rd M60.  The men’s team of Dave Lothian, Steven Harris and Ian Smith took 2nd place in the team competition while Samantha Harris, Catherine Roberts and Donna Sheen took 3rd place in the women’s team competition.

Secondly, fourteen of the club’s runners took part in the annual Kymin Winter Race which, you may remember, involves running from Monmouth almost to the top of the Kymin, dropping approximately 2/3 of the way back down before climbing back to the top followed by a fast race back down to the start line. The organisers ‘Le Croupiers’ of Cardiff state that it involves 1150 ft of climbing in just under 4 miles. You won’t be surprised, it is a real test of physical indurance.  

1st place in the Kymin Winter race went to James Thie of Cardiff AC in 32:54 followed just 6 seconds behind by Huw Evans of Le Croupiers in 33:00 with Sam Jones of Parc Bryn Bach a mere 3 seconds further back in 33:03.  James Thie ran in the M35 class while Huw Evans and Sam Jones to 1st place in the M45 and SM (Senior Male) classes respectively.

The womens race was won by Natasha Cockram of Micky Morris Race Team in 35:43 with Helen Brown of FODAC and Mynydd Du 2nd in 36:14 and Nicki Morgan of Chepstow Harriers taking 3rd place in 39:46. Natasha ran in the SW class with Helen Brown and Nicki Morgan taking 1st place in the W40 and W50 classes respectively

The other FODAC finishers were:  Cory Sherwin 2nd Junior Male 37:40; Julian Boon 3rd M45 38:01; Andy Horlick 3rd M40 38:13; Spike Powles 38:46; John Russel 40:41; Martyn Carruthers  41:08; Lynn Cro 43:02; Graham James 45:18; Stephanie Francis 49:57;Peter Short 51:09; Andrew Knott 52:00; Michael Marks 58:15.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.