The 2013 Championships are now decided.  53 men and 33 women took part, compared to 29 and 25 respectively in 2012.  In the Men’s Championship, Julian Boon retained his 2012 title, but this year tied with Leyton FleetRichard Peglar snatched third place ahead of Alan Robertson.  In the Women’s Championship, Jacqui Wynds also retained her title, with Claire Morgan second and Stef Francis third.

The 2014 Championship should prove interesting.  There are several new quick runners, particularly amongst the men, who could provide a challenge to Jools & Leyton.  Jools is also taking over the running of the Championship and will be introducing new races for us to tackle.  Thank you for competing over the past two years and please give Jools your support in 2014.
Nominated Races:

January 27th     Lliswerry 8miles (road) Newport
February 3rd     May Hill Massacre (mixed)
March 16th         Rhayader Round-the-Lakes 20 mile (road)
March 24th        Forest half marathon (trail)
April                     Parkrun 5k (FoD) fastest result to count
April 30th            Forest Mile (track)
May 6th                Devauden 10k (trail)
May 14th/ June 11th/ July 9th/ Aug 13th
 Rose Inn 4 miles (road) fastest result to count
June 2nd              Magic Roundabout 10k (grass)
June 16th             Darren’s Dash (fell race)
July 4th                Tintern Trot 5 miles (off-road)
September 22nd Swansea 10k (road)
September 29th Oldbury 10 miles (road)
October 27th       Stroud half-marathon (road)
November 2nd   Gloucester x-country (Cheltenham)

Any officially-timed Marathon.

Don’t forget to email Chris Moore 1953cjm@gmail.com with your result.  If you don’t, then there’s no guarantee that you’ll receive your points.

Basic Rules

There will be a separate Championship for men & women.

The Championship is based on a series of races between January & November in a calendar-year, and will cover a range of distances, terrain and surface. Any officially-timed marathon within the championship period will be included as an additional race and points will be awarded according to finish times.

All races will count towards Championship.  If someone is keen to win the championship and tries to do so by entering every event, then good luck to them.  The likelihood is that everyone will miss some races.

Entry to races is the participant’s responsibility, must be in the participant’s own name and the runner should wear the club vest.

1st FODAC finisher in specified race to receive 10 points, 2nd 9 and so
on.  If more than 10 finishers, then points awarded will be increased so that everyone receives at least one point.  Men and women finishers will be awarded points separately.

The Champion is the person who has accumulated the most points.

How it will work:

Anyone who competes in ANY of the nominated Championship races will be included in that year’s Championship.  There will be no need to declare an interest.

To assist the verification process competitors must specify
‘Forest of Dean AC’ as their club on the race application forms.

As soon after the race as possible competitors should inform Chris
Moore at 1953cjm@gmail.com their finish positions, to ensure they receive their points.

Points will be awarded according to finishing place and Championship
standing will be updated regularly on the Club’s website.  Please inform Chris if you believe there to be any errors.