Rhayader 20


The longest nominated race in the Forest of Dean AC Club Championship is the Rhayader 20 mile Round-the Lakes race, held in mid-Wales and running around the Elan Valley Lakes.  The route includes some steep climbs and the weather is almost always “interesting”.  In the past there has been hail and snow.  This year, the temperature was almost perfect, with no rain.  The drawback was the strong wind, which almost stopped the runners’ progress on parts of the course.  Stef Francis, not known for liking road races said: “If Carling did road races they would be like the one I just did. 20 hilly miles in the most beautiful setting at Rhayader round some amazing lakes.


Richard Pegler


Stef Francis










The winner was Latthew Collins of MMRT, who finished in 1:59:09.  First lady was Lauren Jeskri of Eryri Harriers in 2:19:39. FODAC had 11 runners taking part this year, many of whom were using this in preparation for marathons in April.  Richard Pegler was first of these to finish, 50th in 2:28:33.  He was nearly 5 minutes ahead of second FODAC finisher, Daren Smith 2:34:27.  Leyton Fleet 2:34:42 was just behind.  First FODAC lady was Stef Francis in 3:19:40, followed by Jacqui Wynds 3:20:56 and Claire Morgan 3:31:21.  Other times: Dan Sandford 2:37:16; Scott Berry 2:37:32; Rob Freeman 2:46:13; Andrew Kaye 2:47:53; and Patrick Rennison 3:07:17.


A second event, a five-miler covering the final part of the 20-mile course, takes place at the same time.  FODAC’s Chris Moore finished 24th out of 91 in 35:26, just ahead of Alan Robertson 35:57.



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.